Font by Mehr Nastaliq Web

Poets/Writers From India

Total: 1445

Amir Khusrau

1253 - 1325

First Poet of Rekhta/Hindvi. Musician and Disciple of Sufi Saint Hazrat Nizamuddin Aulia. Known for his "pahelis", which form part of Indian folklore. He is famous for inventing two most important musical instruments tabla & sitar. Wrote "Ze-hal-e-miskin…" one of the earliest prototypes of Urdu ghazal written in Persian & Hindvi.

One of the most prolific 18th century poets, contemporary of Mir Taqi Mir.

Ibrahim Zauq

1790 - 1854

Poet laureate of the Mughal Court and mentor of Bahadur Shah Zafar. His 'poetic' rivalry with Ghalib is well known.

Considered to be the foremost poet of mathnawi.

Momin Khan Momin

1800 - 1852

Contemporary of Ghalib and Zauq. He was also a physician, astrologer and chess player. Mirza Ghalib is said to have offered his complete diwan for his sher "tum mere paas hote ho goya, Jab koi doosra nahin hota".

Prominent desciple of Nasikh who served in the armies of Maratha ruler Yashwant Rao Holkar at Indore and Ghaziuddin Haider, Nawab of Awadh

Husainul Haq

1949 - 2021

Noted story writer and novelist; known for his treatment of communal riots in India.

Religious scholar of Sufistic temperament who was assassinated due to religious reasons

Shad Azimabadi

1846 - 1927

One of the most prominent pre-modern poets.

Barq Dehlvi

1884 - 1936

A later descendant of Delhi’s poetry tradition, known for his play 'Krishna Avataar'

Known for his Urdu translation of Bhagwat Geeta in verse titled- Naseem-e-Irfaan.

Qais Jalandhari

1904 - 1994

Ramz Azimabadi

1916 - 1997

Aabid Barelvi

1942 - 2008

Aafaq Banarasi

1868 - 1934

Aah Sambhali

1934 - 1990

Aalam Lakhnavi

1882 - 1952

Aali Badayuni

1857 - 1934

Aarif Balyavi

1912 - 1971

Aarif Islampuri

1874 - 1953

Aarif Phulwarwi

1817 - 1866

Aarif Tamimi

1921 - 1979

Aarzu Lakhnavi

1873 - 1951

Aasi Gayavi

1896 - 1917

Aasi Ghazipuri

1834 - 1917

A distinguished Sufi poet associated with the Khanqah Rashidia, Jaunpur.

23rd Khadim of Dargah Khwaja Gharib Nawaz, Ajmer

Aazam Shah

1653 - 1707

Abdul Aziz Aazad

1873 - 1937

Jashn-e-Rekhta | 8-9-10 December 2023 - Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, Near India Gate - New Delhi

Speak Now